Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Who's Who. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Who's Who for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Hope of Craighead locked

Baron cr 1995 (Life Peer), of Bamff in the District of Perth and Kinross (James Arthur David Hope)

KT 2009; PC 1989; FRSE

Born 27 June 1938; s of late Arthur Henry Cecil Hope, OBE, WS, Edinburgh and Muriel Ann Neilson Hope (née Collie); m 1966, Katharine Mary Kerr, d of W. Mark Kerr, WS, Edinburgh; twin s one d

Deputy President of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom, 2009–13; Convenor, Cross Bench Peers, House of Lords, since 2015


Edinburgh Acad.; Rugby Sch.; St John’s Coll., Cambridge (Open Schol. 1956, BA 1962, MA 1978; Hon. Fellow, 1995); Edinburgh Univ. (LLB 1965)


FRSE 2003. National Service, Seaforth Highlanders, 1957–59 (Lieutenant 1959). Admitted Faculty of Advocates, 1965; Standing Junior Counsel in Scotland to Board of Inland Revenue, 1974–78; Advocate-Depute, 1978–82; QC (Scotland) 1978; Dean, Faculty of Advocates, 1986–89; Lord Justice-Gen. of Scotland and Lord Pres. of Court of Session, 1989–96; a Lord of Appeal in Ordinary, 1996–2009; Second Sen. Law Lord, 2009; Chief Justice, Abu Dhabi Global Mkts Courts, 2015–. Chm., Med. Appeal Tribunal, 1985–86; Legal Chm., Pensions Appeal Tribunal, 1985–86. Mem., Scottish Cttee on Law of Arbitration, 1986–89. HM Lord High Comr to Gen. Assembly of C of S, 2015–16. Mem. Bd of Trustees, Nat. Liby of Scotland, 1989–96. Chm. Bd, Inst. of Advanced Legal Studies, 2000–13. President: Stair Soc., 1993–2013; Internat. Criminal Law Assoc., 2000–13; Commonwealth Magistrates’ and Judges’ Assoc., 2003–06 (Hon. Life Vice-Pres., 2009). Chm., Sub-Cttee E (Law and Instns), H of L Select Cttee on EU, 1998–2001. Hon. Professor of Law: Aberdeen, 1994–; Strathclyde, 2013– (Chancellor, 1998–2013; Fellow, 2000). Chm., Botanic Cottage Trust, 2009–12. Fellow, Soc. of Writers to the Signet, 2011. Hon. Member: Canadian Bar Assoc., 1987; Soc. of Legal Scholars (formerly SPTL), 1991; Hon. Fellow, Amer. Coll. of Trial Lawyers, 2000. Hon. Bencher: Gray’s Inn, 1989; Inn of Court of NI, 1995. Hon. LLD: Aberdeen, 1991; Strathclyde, 1993; Edinburgh, 1995; Glasgow, 2013; BPP, 2014; Abertay, 2014; DUniv Strathclyde, 2013. David Kelbie Award, Inst. Contemporary Scotland, 2007


(ed jtly) Gloag & Henderson’s Introduction to the Law of Scotland, 7th edn 1968, asst editor, 8th edn 1980 and 9th edn 1987, (contrib.) 11th edn 2001; (ed jtly) Armour on Valuation for Rating, 4th edn 1971, 5th edn 1985; (with A. G. M. Duncan) The Rent (Scotland) Act 1984, 1986; (contrib.) Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia of Scots Law; (contrib.) Court of Session Practice


walking, ornithology, music


34 India Street, Edinburgh EH3 6HB

(0131) 225 8245


House of Lords SW1A 0PW


New (Edinburgh)