Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Who's Who. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Who's Who for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Hutton, Dame Deirdre (Mary) free

DBE 2004 (CBE 1998)

Born 15 March 1949; d of Kenneth Alexander Home Cassels and Barbara Kathleen Cassels; m 1975, Alasdair Henry Hutton , qv (marr. diss. 2010); two s

Chairman, Civil Aviation Authority, since 2009


Sherborne Sch. for Girls; Hartwell House Coll.


Researcher, Glasgow Chamber of Commerce, 1975–80; freelance researcher, 1980–86; Scottish Consumer Council: Mem. Council, 1987–89; Vice Chm., 1990–91; Chm., 1991–99; Vice-Chm., 1997–2000, Chm., 2001–05, Nat. Consumer Council. Dep. Chm., Financial Services Authy, 2004–07 (non-exec. Dir, 1998–2007); Chm., Food Standards Agency, 2005–09. Vice Chm., Borders Local Health Council, 1991–94; Chairman: Enterprise Music Scotland Ltd, 1992–95 (also Founder); Rural Forum (Scotland) Ltd, 1992–99; Council, PIA Ombudsman, 1997–2000 (Dep. Chm., 1995–97); DTI Foresight Panel on Food Chains and Crops for Industry, 1999–2000; Steering Gp, Food Chain Centre, 2002–05; Vice-Chm., Scottish Envmt Protection Agency, 1999–2002; Dep. Chm., European Food Safety Authy, 2003–08; Member: Music Cttee, Scottish Arts Council, 1985–91; Scottish Consultative Council on the Curriculum, 1987–91; Parole Bd for Scotland, 1993–97; Minister’s Energy Adv. Panel, DTI, 1997–99; Sec. of State for Scotland’s Constitutional Steering Gp on Scottish Parliament, 1998; Sec. of State’s Competitiveness Council, DTI, 1999–2000; Better Regulation Task Force, 1999–2005; Sustainable Develt Commn, 2000–01; Curry Commn on Future of Agriculture and Food, 2001; non-exec. Mem. Bd, HM Treasury, 2008–13. Board Member: Picker Inst. Europe, 2003–06; Castle Trust, 2011–16. Non-executive Director: Edinburgh Festival Theatres Ltd, 1997–99; Borders Health Bd, 1997–2002; Thames Water Utilities Ltd, 2010–. Honorary Vice-President: Inst. of Food Sci. and Technol., 2007; Trading Standards Inst., 2007. FCGI 2010. Pro-Chancellor, Cranfield Univ., 2012–. DUniv Stirling, 2000; Hon. DSc: Loughborough, 2005; Cranfield, 2007


reading, eating, talking, music


Civil Aviation Authority, CAA House, 45–59 Kingsway WC2B 6TE