Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Who's Who. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Who's Who for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Lachmann, Sir Peter (Julius) locked

Kt 2002; FRCP, FRCPath; FRS 1982; FMedSci

Born 23 Dec. 1931; s of late Heinz Lachmann and Thea (née Heller); m 1962, Sylvia Mary, d of Alan Stephenson; two s one d

Sheila Joan Smith Professor of Immunology (formerly Tumour Immunology), University of Cambridge, 1977–99, now Emeritus Professor; Fellow of Christ’s College, Cambridge, 1962–71 and since 1976; Head, Microbial Immunology Group, Centre for Veterinary Science, Cambridge, 1997–2006


Christ’s Coll., Finchley; Trinity Coll., Cambridge (Hon. Fellow, 2007); University College Hosp. MA, MB BChir, PhD, ScD (Cantab)


FRCP 1973; FRCPath 1981. John Lucas Walker Student, Dept of Pathology, Cambridge, 1958–60; Vis. Investigator, Rockefeller Univ., New York, 1960–61; Empire Rheumatism Council Res. Fellow, Dept of Pathology, Cambridge, 1962–64; Asst Dir of Res. in Pathology, Univ. of Cambridge, 1964–71; Prof. of Immunology, Royal Postgraduate Med. Sch., 1971–75; Hd, 1976–77, Hon. Hd, 1977–80, MRC Gp on Mechanisms in Tumour Immunity; Hon. Dir, MRC Mechanisms in Tumour Immunity Unit, later MRC Molecular Immunopathology Unit, 1980–97; Hon. Clin. Immunologist, Cambridge HA, 1976–99. Member: Systems Bd, MRC, 1982–86; Med. Adv. Cttee, British Council, 1983–97; Council, RCPath, 1982–85, 1989–93 (Pres., 1990–93); Gene Therapy Adv. Cttee, 1993–96; UNESCO Internat. Bioethics Cttee, 1993–98; Med. Educn Res. Co-ordinating Cttee, 1994–98; Scientific Adv. Bd, SmithKline Beecham, 1995–2000; Chm. Scientific Adv. Bd, Adprotech plc, 1997–2004; non-exec. Dir, Synovis plc, 2001–05. Chairman: Med. Res. Cttee, Muscular Dystrophy Gp, 1987–91; Sci. Cttee, Assoc. Medical Res. Charities, 1988–92; Res. Adv. Cttee, CORE, 2003–09. Trustee: Darwin Trust, 1991–2001; Arthritis Res. Campaign, 2000–06. President: Henry Kunkel Soc., 2003–05; European Fedn of Academies of Medicine, 2004–05. Vis. Investigator, Scripps Clinic and Research Foundn, La Jolla, 1966, 1975, 1980, 1986, 1989; Vis. Scientist, Basel Inst. of Immunology, 1971; RSM Vis. Prof. in USA (various centres), 1983; Smith Kline & French Vis. Prof. in Australia (various centres), 1987; Vis. Prof., Dept of Medicine, RPMS, London, 1986–89 (Fellow, 1995; FIC 2001). Meyerhoff Vis. Prof., Weizmann Inst., Rehovoth, 1989; Prof., Collège de France, 1993; RCS Sir Arthur Sims Travelling Prof., India, 1994; Lectures: Foundn, RCPath, 1983; Langdon-Brown, RCP, 1986; first R. R. Porter Meml, 1986; Heberden Oration, 1986; Prathap Meml, Malaysia, 1991; Charnock Bradley Meml, Royal (Dick) Vet. Sch., Edinburgh, 1994; Frank May Med. Scis, Univ. of Leicester, 1994; Vanguard Medica, Univ. of Surrey, 1998; Lloyd Roberts, Med. Soc. of London, 1999; first Jean Shanks, Acad. Med. Scis, 2001; Ver Heyden de Lancey, Faculty of Law, Univ. of Cambridge, 2011. Biological Sec., and a Vice-Pres., Royal Soc., 1993–98; Founder FMedSci 1998 (Pres., 1998–2002). Foreign Fellow, Indian Nat. Sci. Acad., 1997; Foreign Member: Norwegian Acad. of Science and Letters, 1991; Academia Europea, 1992. Hon. Fellow, Faculty of Pathology, RCPI, 1993; Hon. Member: Assoc. of Physicians, 1998; Czech Med. Acad., 2012. Hon. DSc Leicester, 2005. Gold Medal, Eur. Complement Network, 1997; Medicine and Europe Sen. Prize, Acad. des Scis de la Santé, 2003. Associate Editor, Clinical and Experimental Immunology, 1989–2001


co-ed, Clinical Aspects of Immunology, 3rd edn 1975, 4th edn 1982, 5th edn 1993; First Steps: a personal account of the formation of the Academy of Medical Sciences, 2010; papers in sci. jls on complement, microbial immunology, immunopathology, cultural evolution, religion and ethical aspects of biosci.


visiting mountains, keeping bees


Conduit Tail, 38 Conduit Head Road, Cambridge CB3 0EY

(01223) 357842