Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Who's Who. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Who's Who for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Coe, Jonathan locked


Born 19 Aug. 1961; s of Roger and Janet Coe; m 1989, Janine McKeown; two d

writer, since 1987


Trinity Coll., Cambridge (BA); Warwick Univ. (MA, PhD 1986)


FRSL 2012. Hon. Dr: UCE, 2002; Birmingham, 2006; Hon. DLitt Wolverhampton, 2006. Chevalier, Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (France), 2004


The Accidental Woman, 1987; A Touch of Love, 1989; The Dwarves of Death, 1990; Humphrey Bogart: take it and like it, 1991; James Stewart: leading man, 1994; What a Carve Up!, 1994 (Prix du Meilleur Livre Etranger, 1995); The House of Sleep, 1997 (Prix Médicis Etranger, 1998); The Rotters’ Club, 2001 (Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize, 2001; Premio Arcebispo Juan de San Clemente, 2004) (televised 2005); Like a Fiery Elephant: the story of B. S. Johnson, 2004 (Samuel Johnson Prize, 2005); The Closed Circle, 2004; The Rain Before It Falls, 2007; The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim, 2010; La Storia di Gulliver, 2011; Lo Specchio dei Desideri, 2012; Expo 58, 2013; Number 11, 2015


music, cycling


c/o Peake Associates, PO Box 66726 NW5 9FE

(020) 7681 4307