Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Who Was Who. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Who Was Who for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Pearce, Rt Rev. Ernest Haroldlocked

LittD; DD; DLitt (Oxford), 1929; CBE 1919; TD 1916

Born London, 23 July 1865; e s of late James Pearce, of the YMCA, and Jane, e d of late Walter Edmonds of Penzance; died 28 Oct. 1930

Bishop of Worcester since 1919; Sub-prelate of the Order of St John of Jerusalem, 1919; Honorary Fellow of Peterhouse (Cambridge), 1919; Hon. Fellow of Worcester, Oxford, 1928; Hon. CF (1st class), 1919; FSA 1918


Christ’s Hospital (‘ Grecian’ and Charles Lamb medallist). Classical Scholar and Choral Exhibitioner, Peterhouse, Cambridge; 1st division, 2nd class, Classical Tripos, 1887; 2nd class, Theological Tripos, part ii, 1888


Deacon, 1889; Priest, 1890 (Canterbury); Assistant Master, SE College, Ramsgate, 1889–90; Assist Master, Christ’s Hospital, 1891–92; Metropolitan Secretary, British and Foreign Bible Society, 1892–95; Assistant Professor of Divinity, Queen’s College, 1896–99; Chaplain to Lord Mayor, 1896–97; Professor of Bible History, Queen’s College, London, 1899–1905; Chaplain, 24th Middlesex (Post Office) RV, 1897–1919. Vicar of Christ Church, Newgate Street, and Rector of St Leonard Foster, 1895–1912; Treasurer of Westminster Abbey, 1912–16; Canon of Westminster, 1911–19; Archdeacon, 1916–18; Sub-Dean, 1918–19; Assistant Chaplain-General (temp. and hon.), War Office, 1916–19; Chaplain to the King, 1918–19; Vice-President, British and Foreign Bible Society, 1914; an Almoner of Christ’s Hospital, 1909; Select Preacher, Cambridge and Oxford; Lady Margaret Preacher, Cambridge, 1922


The Annals of Christ’s Hospital, 1901, 2nd ed. 1908; The Book of God’s Kingdom, 1902; The Sons of the Clergy, 1904; English Christianity in its Beginnings, 1908; Robert Henry Hadden: Memoir, 1911; Sion College and Library, 1913; The Laws of the Earliest Gospel, 1913; William de Colchester, 1915; The Monks of Westminster, 1916; Walter de Wenlok, Abbot of Westminster, 1920; Thomas de Cobham, Bishop of Worcester, 1923; The Royal Hospitals at Church, 1925; Hartlebury Castle, 1926; Register of Thomas de Cobham, 1317–1327, 1930


Athenæum; Worcestershire, Worcester


The Castle, Hartlebury, Kidderminster