Show Summary Details

Page of

 Printed from WHO'S WHO & WHO WAS WHO. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use.

date: 21 February 2020

Adams, John free

Born 15 Feb. 1947



Harvard Univ. (scholar)


Teacher, San Francisco Conservatory of Music, 1972–82; Music Advr, 1978–82, Composer-in-Residence, 1982–85, San Francisco Symphony; Creative Chair, LA Philharmonic, 2006–; Composer-in-Residence, Berlin Philharmonic, 2016–17. Compositions include: opera: Nixon in China, 1987; The Death of Klinghoffer, 1990; I Was Looking at the Ceiling and Then I Saw the Sky, 1995; El Niño, 2000; Doctor Atomic, 2005; A Flowering Tree, 2007; The Gospel According to the Other Mary, 2013; Girls of the Golden West, 2017; orchestral works: Shaker Loops, 1978; Common Tones in Simple Time, 1979; Harmonium, 1980–81; Grand Pianola Music, 1981–82; Harmonielehre, 1984–85; The Chairman Dances, 1985; Short Ride in a Fast Machine, 1986; Tromba Lontana, 1986; Fearful Symmetries, 1988; The Wound-Dresser, 1988–89; Eros Piano, 1989; El Dorado, 1991; Violin Concerto, 1993 (Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition, 1995); Gnarly Buttons, 1996; Century Rolls, piano concerto, 1998; Guide to Strange Places, 2002; My Father Knew Charles Ives, 2003; The Dharma at Big Sur, 2004; City Noir, 2010; Absolute Jest, string quartet and orch., 2012; Saxophone Concerto, 2013; Scheherezade.2, 2015; Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes?, concerto for piano and orch., 2018; chorus and orchestra: On the Transmigration of Souls, 2002 (Pulitzer Prize, 2003); In the Name of the Earth, 2019; chamber and ensemble works: Christian Zeal and Activity, 1973; Chamber Symphony, 1992; John’s Book of Alleged Dances, 1994; Road Movies, 1995; Son of Chamber Symphony, 2007; String Quartet, 2008; String Quartet No 2, 2016; piano: China Gates, 1977; Phrygian Gates, 1977; (for 2 pianos) Hallelujah Junction, 2001; dance: Available Light, 2017; numerous recordings


Hallelujah Junction: composing an American life (memoir), 2008


c/o Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd, Aldwych House, 71–91 Aldwych WC2B 4HN