Show Summary Details

Page of

 Printed from WHO'S WHO & WHO WAS WHO. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use.

date: 27 January 2023

Nurse, Sir Paul (Maxime) free

Nurse, Sir Paul (Maxime) free

CH 2022; Kt 1999; PhD; FRS 1989

Born 25 Jan. 1949; s of Miriam Nurse; m 1971, Anne Teresa (née Talbott); two d

President, Royal Society, 2010–15; Director, Francis Crick Institute (formerly UK Centre for Medical Research and Innovation), since 2011


Harrow County Grammar Sch.; Univ. of Birmingham (BSc); Univ. of East Anglia (PhD)


Research Fellow, Univ. of Edinburgh, 1973–79; SERC Advanced Fellow and MRC Sen. Fellow, Univ. of Sussex, 1979–84; Hd of Cell Cycle Control Laboratory, Imp. Cancer Res. Fund, London, 1984–87; Oxford University: Fellow, 1987–93, Hon. Fellow, 1993–, Linacre Coll.; Iveagh Prof. of Microbiology, 1987–91; Royal Soc. Napier Res. Prof., 1991–93; Dir of Lab. Res., 1993–96, Dir Gen., 1996–2002, ICRF; Chief Exec., Cancer Res. UK, 2002–03; Pres., Rockefeller Univ., NY, 2003–10. Trustee: British Mus., 2012–20; Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, 2021–. Chancellor, Bristol Univ., 2017–. MAE 1992; Foreign Associate US NAS, 1995. Fleming Lectr, 1984, Marjory Stephenson Lectr, 1990, Soc. of Gen. Microbiology; Florey Lectr, Royal Soc., 1990; Wenner-Gren Lectr, Stockholm, 1993; Dunham Lectr, Harvard, 1994. President: Genetical Soc., 1990–94; British Sci. Assoc., 2014–15. Founder FMedSci 1998. Hon. FBA 2016. Ciba Medal, Biochemical Soc., 1991; Feldberg Foundn Prize, 1991; (jtly) Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine, Geneva, 1992; Gairdner Foundn Internat. Jt Award, 1992; Royal Soc. Wellcome Medal, 1993; Jimenez Diaz Meml Award, Madrid, 1993; Rosenstiel Award, Brandeis Univ., 1993; Pezcoller Award for Oncology Res., Trento, 1995; Royal Soc. Royal Medal, 1995; Dr Josef Steiner Prize, Steiner Cancer Foundn, Bern, 1996; Dr H. P. Heineken Prize, Netherlands, 1996; Alfred P. Sloan Jr Prize and Medal, General Motors Cancer Res. Foundn, 1997; Judd Award, Meml Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, NY, 1998; Lasker Award, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundn, NY, 1998; (jtly) Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, 2001. Hon. FREng 2012. Officer, Légion d’Honneur (France), 2002; Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star (Japan), 2018


What is Life?, 2020; numerous, in sci. jls, concerned with cell and molecular biology


gliding, astronomy, talking


Francis Crick Institute, 1 Midland Road NW1 1AT