Show Summary Details

Page of

 Printed from WHO'S WHO & WHO WAS WHO. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use.

date: 14 July 2024

Peake, Mervynfree

Peake, Mervynfree


Born China, 9 July 1911; s of E. C. Peake, MD; m 1937, Maeve Gilmore (artist); two s one d; died 17 Nov. 1968

poet, novelist, painter, playwright and illustrator


Tientsin Grammar School; Eltham College, Kent


Rhymes Without Reason, 1944; Captain Slaughterboard Drops Anchor, 1945 (rep. 1966); The Craft of the Lead Pencil, 1946; Titus Groan (novel), 1946; Letters from a Lost Uncle, 1948; The Glassblowers (poem) and Gormenghast (novel) were awarded W. H. Heinemann Foundation Prize (Royal Society of Literature) 1950; Mr Pye, 1953; The Wit to Woo (play), 1957; Titus Alone (novel), 1959; The Rime of the Flying Bomb, 1962; Titus Groan novels (as trilogy; in UK and US), rep. 1967; A Reverie of Bone (poems), 1967


1 Drayton Gardens, SW10

Fremantle 7448