The Golden Man Booker Prize

July 2, 2018

The Man Booker Prize is the UK’s leading annual book prize, which awards £50,000 to its winners for quality, original fiction in the English language. It was initially called the Booker Prize when first awarded in 1969 and was renamed Man Booker Prize in 2002 when Man Group plc became the official sponsors. Previous winners include Kazuo Ishiguro for The Remains of the Day (1989), Margaret Atwood for The Blind Assassin (2000), and Julian Barnes for The Sense of an Ending (2011). 2018 is the 50th year that the prize has been running, with the winner to be announced in October.

Over the years there have been additional awards to celebrate significant anniversaries. In 1993, a Booker of Bookers Prize was given to mark the 25th anniversary of the award, with the winner picked from all previous winners. In 2008, the Best of the Booker Prize was awarded to mark the 40th anniversary, again chosen from all previous winners. Sir Salman Rushdie won both of these for his 1981 magical realism novel about Indian Partition, Midnight’s Children.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the award, the Golden Man Booker Prize will be awarded to one of the previous 51 winners, to be announced on 8 July 2018 at the Southbank Man Booker Festival. On the shortlist include Dame Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall (2009), V.S. Naipaul’s In a Free State, Michael Ondaatje’s The English Patient, and Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively.



1. Who was the first ever winner of the Booker Prize in 1969 with Something to Answer For?

2. Three authors have won the Booker Prize more than once in the last 50 years. Can you name them and their winning novels?

3. In 1992, the Booker Prize was split between Barry Unsworth for his novel Sacred Hunger and which Golden Booker shortlisted author?

4. The film Schindler’s List is an adaptation of which Booker winner’s novel?

5. Which Golden Booker shortlisted author had a memoir published in 2017 entitled Life in the Garden?


1. P. H. Newby

2. J. M. Coetzee for Life and Times of Michael K (1983) and Disgrace (1999), Peter Carey for Oscar and Lucinda (1988) and True History of the Kelly Gang (2001), and Hilary Mantel for Wolf Hall (2009) and Bring Up the Bodies (2012).

3. Michael Ondaatje

4. Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally, later reissued as Schindler’s List.

5. Penelope Lively