Who’s Who in 2019?

December 3, 2018

Who's Who 2019 is the 171st edition of one of the world's longest established and most comprehensive general reference books, brought up to date for the year ahead with nearly 700 new names. It contains over 34,000 autobiographical entries, carefully updated for maximum accuracy from information personally supplied by the biographee.

The very first edition in 1849 was small enough to fit in your pocket but things have changed! This year’s edition features a wide variety of new entrants with occupations not even thought about in the mid-19th century: from wheelchair tennis champion Gordon Reid and TV actor Jason Watkins, to Dawn Hill, Chair of Black Cultural Archives and Thomasina Miers, co-founder of the Wahaca restaurant chain.

One of the unique features of Who’s Who is the inclusion of ‘Recreations’ providing an extra insight into the entrants’ lives: this year we have ‘pink fizz’ (Louis Flannery, QC), ‘visiting roads named after General Charles de Gaulle’ (Rosemary Millard, Chair of Children in Need) and ‘going for a pint with my dog’ (Michael Jones, QC). Meanwhile Maj. Gen. Charles Stickland of the Royal Marines enjoys ‘dangerous DIY’ and Rachel Wang of Chocolate Films spends her time on ‘hare-brained schemes’. Particularly energetic new entrants include Professor Nick Webborn (‘wheelchair tennis’), Professor Lynette Ryals (‘occasional dangerous sports’), Maj. Gen. Duncan Capps, CBE (‘marathon kayaking’) and Simon Antrobus, QC (‘fighting a mid-life crisis with exercise’).



Members of the arts sector are well represented in the new entries. Actor and director Lia Williams (Doc Martin and The Crown) is included for the first time. The Chief Executive Officers of Lionsgate UK (Zygi Kamasa) and Channel 4 (Alexandra Mahon) are also new for 2019. Emma Stenning (Chief Executive of Bristol Old Vic) and Martin Green, CBE (Chair of the Middle Child Theatre Company) are two additions representing the theatre industry.



Journalists selected for the 2019 list include Farrah Storr, Editor of Cosmopolitan, Harry Mount, Editor of The Oldie, and Brendan Walsh, Editor of The Tablet. The publishing world features heavily in this year’s new entrants with David Young (Canongate), Kate Wilson (Nosy Crow), Richard Kitson (Hachette UK) and Perminder Mann (Bonnier Books UK) all landing on the Who’s Who pages.



Moguls of the supermarket industry find their place in Who’s Who 2019, with Jason Tarry, Chief Executive Officer of Tesco and Roger Burnley, Chief Executive Officer and President of Asda both making this year’s list. Representatives of high street retailers have also been selected including Catherine Nunn, Chief Executive of Lakeland and Lisa Montague, Chief Executive Officer of Aspinal of London. Business executives from the sporting world are well represented with Peter Moore, CEO of Liverpool Football Club, Dr Denise Barrett-Baxendale, MBE, CEO of Everton Football Club, and Colin Grassie, Chairman of the Scottish Rugby Union all on the list. Tony Rice and Lisa Anson of Dechra Pharmaceuticals and Redx Pharmaceuticals respectively are both new additions. 



From the science and technology sectors, Dr Richard Herrington, Head of the Earth Sciences Department of the Natural History Museum, and the Chief Scientist at the Meteorological Office, Professor Stephen Belcher have both made welcome additions to the 2019 edition. Ian Ritchey, Group Chief Engineer at Rolls-Royce and Professor Anthony Purnell, Head of Technology at British Cycling are featured as well as Gary Aitkenhead, Chief Executive of the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory.



Support for charities focusing on helping those from disadvantaged backgrounds in the UK is reflected through the selections of Baroness Sater, Chairman of StreetGames UK, and Moira Sinclair, Chief Executive of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation for the 2019 edition of Who’s Who. Josie Dobrin, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Creative Access, a charity that helps those from BAME backgrounds find jobs in the creative industries is also on this year’s list. Rosemary Millard, OBE, Chief Executive Officer of Children and the Arts and Chair of Children in Need, and Lilli Geissendorfer, Director of the Jerwood Charitable Foundation each represent charities that support and promote education and the importance of the arts.