Show Summary Details

Page of

 Printed from WHO'S WHO & WHO WAS WHO. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use.

date: 18 September 2020

Browne, Anthony Edward Tudor free

Born 11 Sept. 1946; s of Jack and Doris Browne; m 1980, Jane Franklin; one s one d

author and illustrator of children’s books, since 1976; Children’s Laureate, 2009–11


Whitcliffe Mount GS, Cleckheaton; Leeds Coll. of Art (BA 1967)


Medical Artist, Manchester Royal Infirmary, 1969–71; designer of greetings cards, Gordon Fraser Gall., 1972–86. Hon. DEd: Kingston, 2005; Canterbury Christ Church, 2013. Silver Medal, US Soc. of Illustrators, 1994; Hans Christian Andersen Award, 2000


author and illustrator: Through the Magic Mirror, 1976; Walk in the Park, 1977; Bear Hunt, 1979; Bear Goes to Town, 1982; Gorilla, 1983 (Kurt Maschler Award, 1983; Kate Greenaway Medal, 1984; Boston Globe Horn Book Award, 1986; Netherlands Silver Pencil Award, 1989); Willy the Wimp, 1984; Piggybook, 1985; Willy the Champ, 1985; I Like Books, 1988; The Tunnel, 1989 (Netherlands Silver Pencil Award, 1990); Changes, 1990; Willy and Hugh, 1991; Zoo, 1992 (Kate Greenaway Medal, 1992); Big Baby, 1993; Willy the Wizard, 1995; Look What I’ve Got!, 1996; Things I Like, 1997; Willy the Dreamer, 1997; Voices in the Park, 1998 (Kurt Maschler Award, 1998); Willy’s Pictures, 1999; My Dad, 2000; The Shape Game, 2003; Into the Forest, 2004; My Mum, 2005; Silly Billy, 2006; My Brother, 2007; Little Beauty, 2008; Me and You, 2010; Play the Shape Game, 2010; Bear’s Magic Pencil, 2010; (with Joe Browne) Playing the Shape Game: a life in picture books with the Children’s Laureate, 2011; How Do You Feel?, 2011; One Gorilla: a counting book, 2012; What If…?, 2013; Willy’s Stories, 2014; (with Hanne Bartholin) Frida and Bear, 2015; Willy and the Cloud, 2016; Hide and Seek, 2017; Little Frida, 2019; illustrator: Hansel and Gretel (adapted from trans. by Eleanor Quarrie), 1981; Annalena McAfee, The Visitors Who Came to Stay, 1984; Sally Grindley, Knock, Knock!, Who’s There?, 1985; Annalena McAfee, Kirsty Knows Best, 1987; Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, 1988 (Kurt Maschler Award, 1988); Gwen Strauss, Trail of Stones (poems), 1990; Gwen Strauss, The Night Shimmy, 1991; Janni Howker, The Topiary Garden, 1993; King Kong (from story by Edgar Wallace and Merian C. Cooper), 1994; Ian McEwan, The Daydreamer, 1994; Animal Fair (traditional), 2002


walking, looking, reading, going to the cinema, being with my children and grandchildren


c/o Walker Books Ltd, 87 Vauxhall Walk SE11 5HJ

(020) 7793 0909