Show Summary Details

Page of

 Printed from WHO'S WHO & WHO WAS WHO. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use.

date: 26 September 2022

Pilcher, Rosamunde free

Pilcher, Rosamunde free

OBE 2002

Born 22 Sept. 1924; d of Charles Montagu Lawrence Scott and Helen Scott; m 1946, Graham Pilcher (d 2009); two s two d ; died 6 Feb. 2019

writing and publishing short stories and novels, since 1944


St Clare’s, Polwithen, Penzance; Howell’s Sch., Llandaff, Cardiff


Hon. LLD Dundee, 2010. Author of Year, Bertelsmann Book Club, Germany, 1991; Berliner Zeitung Kulturpreis, 1993; Deutscher Videopreis, 1996; Bambi Award, Bunte magazine, 1997; Goldene Kamera Award, Hörzu, 1998


Sleeping Tiger; Another View; End of Summer; Snow in April; Empty House; Day of the Storm; Under Gemini; Wild Mountain Thyme; Carousel; Blue Bedroom; The Shell Seekers (Amer. Booksellers’ Assoc. award, 1991; televised); September, 1990; Voices in Summer; Flowers in Rain; Coming Home, 1995 (Romantic Novelist of the Year, RNA, 1996; televised, 1998); The World of Rosamunde Pilcher; Winter Solstice, 2000


walking, gardening, reading, travel


Penrowan, Longforgan, Dundee DD2 5ET